Merry Christmas to Me

I had a theme song before Prime made theme songs cool. So, I got myself a personalized license plate proclaiming my theme song far and wide.

(Can it really be a theme song if it requires explanation?)

Expensive homage to my theme song.

For any of you heathens people who aren’t big Gillian Welch fans (she’s on the Grammy winning Oh, Brother! Soundtrack), here’s a sample of the lyrics:

Oh me oh my oh, look at Miss Ohio
She’s a running around with her rag-top down
She says I wanna do right but not right now

Gonna drive to Atlanta and live out this fantasy
Running around with the rag-top down
Yeah, I wanna do right but not right now

Texas musician Miranda Lambert cut a cover of it:

Although, I have to say that driving to Atlanta is hardly a fantasy after spending a couple of years motoring down CA HWY 1 between Monterey and Big Sur.

Me and BFF Sally Baho looking like a total couple. Pacific Coast Highway, November, 2019.

The older I get, the less I want (Mark’s jubilant shouts can probably be heard in Alpha Centauri), so reminders of the good times that are less than 1/4” thick are most precious.

Although, my desire for physical belongings has lessened, in the spirit of Christmas, I wish for peace on earth and goodwill to all humankind.

About Laura Alford, PhD

I'm a 2018 graduate of LSU (PhD in Accounting). In addition to academic research, I also write fiction and blogs about nothing.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Merry Christmas to Me

  1. braingenie says:

    Have a wonderful Christmas Ms Ohio!

    I’m just a big bones gal from southern Alberta!!!

    Hope you have a healthy and happy Christmas, Jeannie

  2. Donna Savell says:

    Merry Christmas from your home town.

Leave a comment