Proxemics

Swim season is over and my number one son  signed up for track. They traveled to Memphis for a meet and he remarked at how different the team dynamics were.

IMG_6747

Who am I kidding? Swimmers are mostly naked most of the time.

Apparently running around half naked most of the time makes swimmers more “touchy-feely.”  Not so much the track team.

I noticed the same thing with high school wrestling in the 90s. Those kids sat next to each other and gave each other back rubs when warming up.

IMG_6748.JPG

Wrestling takes up close and personal to a whole new level.  It’s one of my favorite sports, though, because it requires strength, agility, flexibilty, and quickness of mind and body

Being the nerd that I am, I checked Google Scholar and only found 1 academic article on proxemics and sports, which was a comparison of dancers and martial arts fighters.

Proxemics is the study of interpersonal space and how it affects behavior, communication and social interaction

IMG_6749

The Police said to “Back Away!”

Before this month, I knew that cave diving and crowded parade routes gave me the heebie-jeebies. But they don’t compare to how I felt getting an MRI.

The comedian Jerry Clower describes it accurately and with less profanity than I ever could:

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Proxemics

  1. swanstromm says:

    You are way more funny than Jerry Clower, and I don’t mind the profanity

Leave a Reply

