Faith-Based Econometrics

It’s wrong like bacon fried Twinkies are wrong.

It’s wrong like laughing during Schindler’s List.

Not caring about the matrix algebra fundamentals underlying the SAS/Stata commands is wrong when I am cultivating a lifelong habit of learning.**

econometrics

I am grateful every day for last semester’s B-

Does a girl need to understand a combustion engine or physics to drive a car? No. Same with Econometrics.

stata

Actual notes from my class this semester.  I skipped 3 pages of proofs of assumptions 1 & 2. All I need is the highlighted line.

All I need is that last highlighted line. The Command Line. I will take it on faith that the programmer knows her math and my Theta estimator will be unbiased, consistent and robust.


** This meme is also wrong, but it’s hella funny.joint-significance

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in accounting, Catholocism, Education, LSU, math and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

