How One Letter to a Kid at Camp Cost Me $1,000

My favorite sister-in-law over 6’0″ sent a reasonable email request– send nephew correspondence my snail mail.

I was all set to comply, but when I went to my correspondence supply drawer, I found something even more frilly than this:

image

My cards had triple the flowers and GLITTER!

He IS at NATURE CAMP. But that internal debate lasted about 3 milliseconds before I decided to send him something to counter-act that Wolfpack shirt he was wearing– an LSU card.

But the heat index is 112 (not even kidding), my knee is gimpy, and parking is non-existent, so I drove to a nearby shopping center.

And that’s when it started to snowball:

image.png

The cost breakdown is as follows:

$38 for new stationery from store next the Trader Joe’s.

$4.11 for Trader Joe  cookie butter cookies (9 servings @ 180 calories = 2 days in the gym)

$100 for chiropractic therapy to relieve pain caused by said exercise.

$857.89 for new suit and shoes to wear to AAA conference because instead of losing 2 lbs, I gained 3 from cookies.

I hope he likes his card and has a good time at camp.

Not like this guy

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How One Letter to a Kid at Camp Cost Me $1,000

  1. Mark says:

    If you give a mouse a cookie…

Leave a Reply

