Hide and Seek

Today I had a final exam in a master’s level auditing class. The last time I had auditing was nearly 30 years ago (if you round to the nearest decade.) A lot has changed since then, but the questions are as tricky as ever. Here’s an example:

auditing question

I don’t know if it was the sub-optimal combination of too little sleep and not enough studying, but my brain shorted out on the last question.

brain on auditing

Imagine there are formulas at the top in the blue stuff and that’s what I could remember. But how to use answers I calculated & what to add it to & when to stop– that’s the bits and pieces in the middle that got wiped out by a black magic eraser. (Image Credit: Me, Myself & I)

 

It was like playing hide and seek with a feral cat who’s food dish is empty. You ain’t got a chance. The more I demanded my brain recall the information, the further it sank into the deep, dark recesses of my synapses, until, Poof! It was gone like a nano-particle in a physics experiment.

What I wonder is how come I can’t forget about a half-empty package of Oreos?

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Continuouse Improvement, Education, Louisiana, LSU and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

