Life Lessons Cubed

My dear friend Trish called me today. We got to visit uninterrupted, which means that it’s barely March and I’ve used up my Christmas miracle already.

christmas miracle

“Lucky?” “Coincidence?” I think not. The $mart Money is on $ynchronicity.

She mentioned that she’d like for me to do a blog on my “Life’s like a  Rubik’s cube, not a box of damn chocolates” analogy.

rubiks cube

Pay close attention. Notice that 1 side has it all together and the other 5 sides are a complete mess. THIS is a metaphor for life.

 

Long ago (in a nearby galaxy), Trish and I were talking about life, and I said that mine is like a *^%$& Rubik’s cube– every time I get one side together, the rest of it’s a jumbled up mess.

In in the way of all super-awesome friends, she complimented my accidental genius and said: “That’s a great metaphor. Do you mind if I use it?”

And as a graduate of the Forrest Gump School of Therapeutic Pearls of Wisdom, I said:”SURE!”

diabetes

 

So, that’s pretty much it. I can fiddle-dee-dee with my life all I want, but never seem to get more than 2 sides aligned. Seems like it’s either Time OR Money. Or neither these days.

scarlett and mammy

“It just ain’t fittin’!” ~Mammy                              “A woman can’t be too rich or too thin..” ~Wallis Simpson

And, I guess it’s alright with me, because Life would be pretty boring if we got it all figured out. I think.

meaning of life

Bodie Byles, what’s the answer?

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Authors, chocolate, Christmas, family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

