Zip a Dee Doo Dah

The trouble with popular vacation spots is all of the OTHER people. This morning we were told there would be an HOUR wait to be seated at the pancake shop.

Yogi Berra. More quotable than Ben Franklin and Thomas Jefferson.

Yogi Berra. More quotable than Ben Franklin, Thomas Jefferson and The Dalai Lama.

While Lyle might not starve to death if left unfed for twenty minutes during his waking hours, it’s almost a certainty that the black hole in his stomach would cause him to implode….

Neither calculus nor physics can explain teenaged boy metabolism.

Neither calculus nor physics can explain teenaged boy metabolism whereby they consume enough calories to feed a herd of Dinosaurus Rex and still manage to lose weight.

So, we went to some communist coffee shop that had milkless yogurt and the grittiest iced mocha I’ve ever had the misfortune to taste. I had to eat a $3.00 cupcake just to get the taste of the organic grinds out of my mouth.

(Note to self: If there is an hour wait for breakfast and the coffee shop across the street is empty… there’s a reason.)

I needed to heed the signs this morning.

I needed to heed the signs this morning.

After an unsuccessful search for bacon,  our inner rednecks needed nurturing and I knew just the place–A zip line adventure park.

I have no idea who these people are, but my family totally crossed that bridge today.

I have no idea who these people are, but my family totally crossed that bridge today.

Don’t get me wrong, it was me who thought climbing 80 feet up a tree house and flinging myself over a gorge was a good idea. And it turned out to be a lot of fun. I recommend these guys if you’re in the Hot Springs area– very safety conscious and great with kids: http://www.adventureworks.com/hotsprings/

And, just for kicks here’s the link to a Disney favorite:

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

