99 Problems

Love that Jay-Z song. I probably shouldn’t since he uses such a pejorative term for women, but doing what I shouldn’t has gotten me where I am today.

It’s tempting, when you feel as embattled as the inhabitants of the Gaza Strip and the jihad never ends, to want to list all 99 items. But that just adds more negativity and ain’t nobody got time for that.

negativity

So let me tell you about some great stuff happening in my world, i.e. brag on my kids.

I am so proud of my brave daughter, Leah, for agreeing to try contact lenses. Sticking a piece of plastic in your eye for the first time is a daunting challenge, but she did it because I asked her to.

I’m so grateful to have a child love and trust me enough to go against her every instinct and try something hard. She rocks. And gets to pick her own spooky, scary Halloween eyes.

montreal cosmetic color contacts

As far as the boy child goes, well…. If Leah’s rocking, Lyle’s rolling. An excellent student, he is turning into an exceptional athlete and filling my house every weekend with his friends. He’s having the time of his life and is enjoying the challenge of pushing himself to the next level.

Ladies, young and old, love him. None more so than his mama. (Who promises to get some corrective eyeware herself so she can recognize him at the pool.)

Fernando, Reed, Lyle, and Luke at the 2014 Louisiana State Long Course Championships in New Orleans.

Fernando, Reed, Lyle, and Luke at the 2014 Louisiana State Long Course Championships in New Orleans.

And then there’s Misty.

Boo-yah!

I saved the best for last, and that’s my (favorite, so far) husband, Mark. He is ever kind and patient and going straight to heaven for sticking with me. He probably won’t even die, but like Elijah, just go “walk with God.”

(Mark asks that any sudden disappearance be treated as a missing persons case, and thoroughly investigated by the police. Please do not assume anything about his alleged assumption.)

116

The Swanstrom Brothers: Bill, Mark and Troy.

We’re all healthy–in fact, it’s been a long time since I felt this good. We’re all happy. And I’m wiser today than I was yesterday.  That’s As Good as It Gets:

Ain't that the damn truth?

Ain’t that the damn truth?

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Catholocism, Children, family, Sports, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 99 Problems

  1. Susan Sands says:

    I loved this post, Laura, and I’m so glad things are going well for everyone in the family. Mark holds a special place in my heart for his editing skills and being such a great guy. So proud of your girl; contacts must have been quite a challenge. And of course, Lyle rocks! Love that he’s become such a well-rounded student, ladies man and athlete! You’re decision to go back to school inspires me! I couldn’t even imagine tackling higher level math again–or math at any level these days. Love you all!

  2. lark63 says:

    Good post. Have a good week.Love you MOM

    Date: Sun, 28 Sep 2014 22:55:50 +0000 To: linaalford@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

