Down on the Corner

I’ve got to work on my street corner pose. Nobody’s giving me a second look. Not even the bus driver.

It could  be because I’m decked out in my best “teacher casual,” and accessoriziing with a reflective neon backpack, puffy insulated lunch sack, jacket and umbrella. 

Or maybe it’s the shoes. I’ve taken to wearing the flattest shoes I can find. It seems like they come in two styles– there’s the “granny” and the “butt-ugly.”

It’s almost like reliving my childhood. Loaded down with books and insecurities. The only difference is that I never rode the bus to school.

The bus is one of the best parts of my day. An app tells me where it is at all times so I don’t spend much time waiting in the sweltering heat. 

LSU Tiger Trails Garden District bus route. The blue dot is me. On the green ballon bus.

LSU Tiger Trails Garden District bus route. The blue dot is me. On the green ballon bus.

I don’t have to engage in vulture parking, following my prey to their parked cars, I can check my email and Facebook while en route  and it’s free and air conditioned.  

 http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vrMvblpZFq0

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

