Swim a Mile in Their Pool

My son, Lyle, is a swimmer. Like pro golfers, swimmers make it look easy. Like anybody could do it. I mean, how hard could it be?

how hard can it be

This is Inigo Montoya. His father’s death scarred him for life, but has inspired generations of swordfighters.

[Anecdotal data about how flipping hard it could be:  yesterday Mark swam 2.5, I swam 10, and Lyle swam 30 “100’s” in an hour. It’s plenty hard.]

In golf, at least there’s a snack cart.

Snacks may be part of the problem.

Snacks may be part of the problem.

The good news is that this physical activity doesn’t hurt my knee. The bad news is that people in Natchitoches have seen me in active swimwear.

And I woke up at 3 am with a crippling headache. I was sure it was a brain-eating amoeba or a stroke. No doubt I’d be dead by sunrise, leaving Mark with all my lottery winnings.

When I got up to get some medicine, my head quit hurting. But when I laid back down, the pounding returned.  I got back up to make sure I wasn’t imagining things, besides Lotto jackpots.

Up. Down. Up. Down.

Up. Down. Up. Down.

My dipping bird imitation woke Leah up. She came in our room and made herself right at home in the middle of the bed.

She likes to be fair and balanced with a  hand or foot on either parent at all times.

She likes to be fair and balanced with a hand or foot on either parent at all times. (not my bedroom)

My headaches gone this morning and I got a new seat for my bicycle. Think I’ll give that a whirl today. I mean– How Hard Could It Be?

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Swim a Mile in Their Pool

  1. I’ve lived to regret that phrase–how hard can it be?–MANY times in my life!

  2. Leah says:

    My mom forgot to say that she asked me to get in their bed and I was already at home.

  3. Nayner aka BFF says:

    You always remind me how much and why I love you and why you have always been and will always be my BFF !!!!

Leave a Reply

