Lacuna Matata

I absolutely was NOT going to read that book about kids with cancer. But, yesterday a friend posted a quote and it was a beautiful string of words.  Prettier than pearls.

It occurred to me that I could probably learn a good bit about writing by reading it.  So, for the sake of my craft, I’ve decided to read a book that I know will suck my insides out and leave me hurting.

I believe you have a Lacuna.  Or a missing piece.

I believe you have a Lacuna. Or a missing piece.

That’s the Lacuna. The hole in your heart, your life, your very being. The one that causes The Never Ending Scream. The one we try to fill up with shopping or eating or hiding.  Ray Wylie Hubbard sings about it in There Are Some Days.

But as the great philosopher Janis Joplin says about the cat you’ve only got for one day,   “You gotta live that one day like it’s your life, because tomorrow never comes.”  (I paraphrased and left out a metric shit ton of her F-bombs.)

That’s the Matata. Make hay while the sun shines. Dance like nobody’s watching. Use It or Lose It. Yada, yada, yada.

 

The poet Khalil Gibran writes that “Your joy is your sorrow unmasked.”

Life and Death are two sides of the same coin. Yin and yang. One and inseparable.

Lacuna Matata.

 

 

 

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Authors, family, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lacuna Matata

  1. The book is worth the read! Just don’t do it on an airplane surrounded by strangers. Definitely the Fault was mine–epic fail. 😉

Leave a Reply

