Hell on Wheels

Molten Sulphur

Molten Sulfur @ least 250 degrees F. That’s HOT!!!

We were just outside of Lake Charles when we spotted this truck yesterday.

I had to explain to my kids that the smell of sulfur is synonymous with Satan. And Easter Egg poots.

Which probably boils down to the same thing if you consider the whole egg thing evolves from an ancient fertility rite celebration that has nothing to do with Jesus.

But, I’m already a little pissed about the Baptists dissing Halloween and Christmas trees simply because they’re pagan, while ignoring other, equally salient historical facts.

(Not that I have a large fundamentalist followship and need to worry much about the consequences of what I write.)

Last week all our vehicles had tire issues.  My brand new front tires had 2 screws in one of them. Alas, no road hazard insurance for “performance” tires.  And the two back tires needed replacing.

Tires that I was lucky to get before August 27-- A whole month!

Tires that I was lucky to get before August 27– A whole month!

 

3 for me.

The driver’s side rear wheel on Mark’s vehicle would deflate rapidly, unless you parked with the valve stem between 12 & 3. This makes parking in a garage in downtown Oklahoma City even more fun than usual.

So, that’s 1 for him. The score’s 3:1, but nobody’s a winner in this budget buster.

4 new tires in a week; 2 of which had less than 1/3 of the tread worn off of them. Makes me want to start walking everywhere. But then I realized I could get a tire for about $200 and my tennis shoes cost $125 and only last 3 months, so it’s better to drive.

Hell is mentioned in the KJV 54 times according to some self-proclaimed internet expert. This amazes me since the New Testamenters never had to spend the summer at home with the kids sucking up the internet bandwith.

Oh, they had to cook with dried camel dung, you say? I can’t eat garlic and gave up Ding Dongs. Who’s the hell expert now?

Back in the day when people, INCLUDING CHILDREN, had to get up before dawn to milk the cows, feed the chickens, split the firewood, and generally do a bunch of HARD WORK to survive, the kids LOVED school. It was a time of respite, a place to get away from it all and exercise your mind.

wb2-skool-stdnts-funny-school-lol

We’ve had a busy summer with a lot of fun. Even so, the kids are excited about going back to school this fall.

I’m ECSTATIC!

No, she didn't just buy a Toyota.

No, she didn’t just buy a Toyota. It’s the 1st day of school.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Children, Christmas, Education, family, Saving Money and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hell on Wheels

  1. Susan Sands says:

    I feel you on the tires. I’m not quite ready for school though. Too much running around and schedules. I Don’t care for schedules. They require the whip-cracking, mean mommy in full force. Not sure I’ve got the energy built up for a new school year. (Sigh)

  2. Rennie says:

    You crack me up and make me lol. I’m pretty sure only a handful of your followers get your since of humor the way Sue and I do though. I used to be the mom in the pic but alas this year is the last hurrah for me and mine. Even tho I will be happy to have alone time again I am mega sad that my little hellions are no longer little nor hellions (well There’s always Connor’s hell bent ways) . But this time next year I will be the bird mom with no one but Cora in the nest and won’t have the slightest bit of inkling of what I’m to do….maybe I’ll finally become that showgirl in Vegas ?????

  3. Rennie says:

    Now that would certainly be something to see !!

Leave a Reply

