Salt of the Earth

I’ve been reading up on Sea Salt, trying to figure out why it and garlic might make me sick. Given that sea salt is often used in purification rituals, the most reasonable conclusion I’ve reached is that I’m an evil vampire.

Garlic Sauce of Death

Garlic Sauce of Death

If you put a dash of sea salt in boiling water and add macaroni, it will make me long for death. For hours. For Real and For True.

This seasoning blend is to me the Inquisitorial equivalent of the intestinal rack.

Blend of Ultimate Evil

Blend of Ultimate Evil

 

This week finding food fit for a vampire proved to be every bit as challenging for me as, say, oh, using my non-preternatural strength to leap from the Marquis to Atrium levels in the hotel.

Feeling sorry for myself as I contemplated eating yet another Dairy Queen chocolate chip cookie dough Blizzard, I happened to catch the news story about the children in India who died from eating the ONE MEAL they got a day.

Which pretty much put an end to my pity party.

I am so blessed.

People in this country are so blessed.

How can I forget this? Over and Over and Over again? How can we forget it?

How can we remember to COUNT OUR BLESSINGS every single day and not just at Thanksgiving?

The Last Supper  Carved from a Salt Mine Wieliczka, Poland

The Last Supper
Carved from a Salt Mine
Wieliczka, Poland

 

Even the Chandelier is made with Salt Rock Crystals. Wieliczka, Poland

Interior or a Salt Mine. Even the Chandelier is made with Salt Rock Crystals.  Wieliczka, Poland

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

