Don’t Think about Monkeys

You know the old adage– somebody says, don’t think about x,y, or z, and then ALL you can think about is x, y, or z? That happens to me a lot. My brain is unruly. Like a bowl of spaghetti.

Bowl of Spaghetti, i.e. my convoluted brain

Bowl of Spaghetti, i.e. my convoluted brain

So, I’d been on a marathon round of not thinking about something that was consuming my thoughts. It was exhausting. This week, I caved and invited the forbidden subject in for a cup of coffee, a piece of cake and a car wash. Voila! It disappeared.

Magic or anti-reverse psychology or something. Who can follow the non-logical processes  through the pasta in my head?  Not me.

Anyway, now that I have all this energy from not shadow boxing myself all day long, I’m thinking about tackling the downstairs. The dreaded TOY ROOM.

002

003

 

I’m not sure how long the surge of vitality will last. Probably long enough for me to make a really, really big mess and want to quit in the middle somewhere.

We shall see.  Send prayers and/or garbage bags. We need both.

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Children, Continuouse Improvement, family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

