Praline Cake (Recipe)

This post is a special request by Patty Keating. Patty, if you come to Natchitoches, I’ll make you a cake! I’d also like to give Susan Noel Sands credit for inspiring this concoction.

Praline Cake with Joe Henry Icing

Praline Cake with Joe Henry Icing

The cake part is a Duncan Hines Butter Recipe Yellow cake mix. I almost exactly follow the recipe, but I use a WHOLE STICK of butter instead of 7 TBSP.  I mean, come on, DH– what am I supposed to do with that leftover little bit sticking to the paper?

I’ve discovered that I have dark pans. They’re Caphalon– who knew? So I bake two 9 inch layers for 25 minutes at 325 degrees farenheit. This prevents round, puffy, raw middles and burned edges.

While that’s baking, I start working on the PRALINE FILLING.  This recipe makes enough filling for 2 cakes– or if you have a large gathering, one big cake (2 cake mixes in 9 X 13 pans). But it will store in fridge for a while, so do it however you want.

The first thing you’re gonna need is a package of ZuZu’s Praline Candy Mix. In Natchitoches it’s available on Front Street at Cane River Kitchenware or on Hwy. 1 at Natchitoches Pecan Plantation. Since you need beaucoup pecans, you might want to load up while at the plantation…. Just a thought.

ZuZu's Praline Mix-- It's idiot proof.

ZuZu’s Praline Mix– It’s idiot proof.

The recipe for the filling is INSIDE the package. You’ll need a stick of salty butter, 1 @ 5 oz (small) can of evaporated milk and 1 @ 12 oz (big) can of evaporated milk. Make according to the directions, which are idiot proof. And it only takes about 5 minutes!!!! Really. Not kidding.

And 8 cups of chopped pecans.

Yes, that’s 8 cups of chopped pecans. It’s enough for 2 cakes, remember.

Once everything has cooled, you put about half the praline mix (1/4 of total, cause it’s 1/2 of 1/2) between layers. The other half goes in the cream cheese icing.

And the last half goes in the fridge.

For the ICING, you will need to soften 2 sticks of unsalted, sweet cream butter, 2 bricks (I don’t know what else to call them) of cream cheese and cream these together. Add a tsp of vanilla and 4 cups of SIFTED powdered sugar.

Don’t forget to sift that sugar. Very important. Trust me on this.

Then, load that spatula up and frost the cake.  Try not to eat so much that it makes you sick. This is also very important!

If I want to decorate the cake, then I reserve some cream cheese icing to put in my cake decorator thing because pecans tend to jam up the works….

 

Happy Mother’s Day!

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in cooking, Louisiana and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Praline Cake (Recipe)

  1. Susan Sands says:

    If you can’t get Zu Zu’s make the filling much like a pecan praline recipe but less dense. I do need to get some Zu Zu’s because my family is requesting this cake more and more often. Thanks for the shout out!

Leave a Reply

