The Education of L’il Ole Me

Although I frequently bemoan that my kids didn’t come with an instruction manual, I got to be real. It ain’t like I’d follow the instructions anyway. I’m pretty sure I’d know better than the book. (Heads around the globe are nodding in agreement: Yep.)

So, while I learn that parents are just regular people doing the best they can, it doesn’t mean that they aren’t fair game.

Me, my Mom, a Corsage, and a Box

Me, my Mom, a Corsage, and a Box

For the past 37+ years, my mom has kept this corsage I received from my great uncle Revis on my first birthday. This is an incredible feat considering that we’ve moved several times, and proves once and for all that I must be her favorite. (Insert raucous laughter here.)

We watched an episode of Duck Dynasty last night where Willie was helping Phil move Miss Kay’s new couch(es). The youngest brother, Jeb, just laid around and when the dogs nixed the new couch, the parents gave it to him. For free. A fine example of family dynamics that seemed hauntingly back-achingly familiar.

After emptying a barn o’ stuff this weekend and attempting to sell it to people for a nickle, we had to repack all the crap that didn’t sell. If I had a lick of sense, I’d have bought it all and thrown it away in the dark of night.

Or sent it to the brother to whom it belongs:

Box of "Good Stuff" belonging to my older brother, Anthony. Happy Birthday, Homes!

Box of “Good Stuff” belonging to my older brother, Anthony. Happy Birthday, Homes!

I’m putting e’rybody on notice. Next year I’m having and/or attending a Derby Party. No Sale on the Trail for me. It’s hats, mint juleps and some horse racing in 2014.

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in birthday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Education of L’il Ole Me

  1. NickiB says:

    Stumbled across your blog. Really nice. Enjoyed it. Well done:-)

Leave a Reply

