First, You Make a Roux

That’s not totally true. First, secure your hair. Nothing worse than being in the midst of chopping up a Vidalia onion and having to brush your bangs out of your face.  You won’t stop crying for at least 15 minutes. Trust me on this.

Vidalia OnionsSource: Georgia

Vidalia Onions
Source: Georgia

Onions are 1/3 of the “trinity” used in most Louisiana dishes. Green bell peppers and celery are the remaining two. I usually saute them in butter before adding to my roux, because I don’t like them crunchy from being “fried” by the superheated oil/flour blend.

Every time I chop up my vegetables I wish I had some ginsu knives and just an inkling of how to cut an onion like a pro. Some people might wish for a food processor, but not me. I believe that personal chopping is an integral part of the cooking.

While that might be an irrational belief to some, there are others that would agree with me–Laura Esquivel, author of Like Water for Chocolate comes to mind.

Last Friday I cooked Crawfish Monica a la Susan (fettucini) via Laura (no garlic) to take to the NOLA Stars Writer’s Conference for the second year running. And just like last year, the recipe was requested.  The only problem is that there ISN’T a recipe.

Crawfish Monica

Crawfish Monica

Well, it’s not really a problem for ME.

***

What is my problem is Baby Boy’s birthday cake. He requested red velvet cake and the layers came out of the oven looking 7 months pregnant.

Other DH mixes work just fine in my oven (same temp, same pans), so I can only presume that there’s something about the Red Velvet mix that makes it susceptible to round middles.

I’ll test my theory on Sunday when I’ll bake another for his party for friends and see how it turns out.

 

 

 

 

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Catholocism, cooking, Louisiana, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

