Faith, Hope, and Love

Sometimes serious stuff jumps on my heart and I can’t ignore it, no matter how loud the neighbor(‘s) dog(s) bark(s).

When I was growing up, I could go to two places: Church and The Gym. I typed on the piano and consequently know  the 1st verse to over half the songs in The Baptist Hymnal. My kids cringe when I break out singing and dancing to the Polka hymns in Hobby Lobby. It’s their opinion that Jesus and Zumba don’t mix.

I took 2 collegiate courses on the Bible: The Old Testament and The New Testament. We read the whole thing. It was probably my second or third time.  I skimmed all that lineage “begat” stuff and have the “C” to prove it.

What I did read over and over and over again, is that the greatest of the commandments is LOVE.

HOW do we love? That’s the tricky part. How many times have I heard turn the other cheek? 70 times 7? At least.

What people forget is that IT’S OKAY TO STEP AWAY from the slapper!

You don’t have to keep your cheek within arm’s reach– figuratively or literally. Forgive them the 1st time and get the hell away.

Pray for them from a distance. Love them from afar. Do not waste your precious time and energy healing from emotional or physical beatings.  This is in the Bible, too, but you don’t hear it as much.

Matthew 7:6 “Do not give what is holy to the dogs; nor cast your pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you in pieces.”

Before you get to thinking that you’re not all that holy, so it’s okay to be friends with someone who’s a jerk half or most of the time—FUGGITTTABOUTITT!

Dogs. Swine. Trampled. What’s not to get? You don’t want to go there. Trust me on this. Not with “friends.” Not with “family.”

Still a Pig.

Still a Pig.

Nobody gets to trample on you (or me). Not nobody. Not nohow. That’s not love.

And that’s all I’ve got to say about that.

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Authors, Catholocism, Continuouse Improvement, Dogs, family, music, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Faith, Hope, and Love

  1. Christy Hayes says:

    Well said, my friend!

Leave a Reply

