Red(d) Fox(x)

Last night Mark and Leah “camped out” in the back yard. This is mostly an excuse to eat s’mores for supper and poptarts for breakfast, but as long as I don’t have to sleep in a tent on the ground, I don’t care.

About 5 this morning, a kid’s scream penetrated my deep sleep. I could barely hear my neighbor’s dog barking over the booming in my chest. For a minute I thought I was having the “Big One.” (Credit: Redd Foxx, Sanford and Sons.)

My dog, who barks at the wind, was silent. Maybe nobody had stolen my daughter…. But what if the intruder/kidnapper had slit the dog’s throat (God knows I’ve been tempted to do so in broad daylight just to shut him up)? Or poisoned some meat? What if? What if? What if?

I got up on shaky legs and peered out the window. Nothing seemed amiss, but I called Mark on his cell phone to confirm. He took forever to answer. But he eventually did. They were fine. Of course.

Except that it took him some time to get back to sleep. Oops! He told me that while waiting on the SandMan he heard the kid screaming noise, too.

What did we do before Google? Suspect our neighbors of torturing their kids? Turns out that at least one other Louisiana resident has had a similar experience:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090808195522AAmu8p1

Here’s the answer: It’s most likely a red fox shrieking.

I’ve seen several foxes while walking in my woodsy neighborhood, so I had to look up what those sightings “meant.”

A fox totem can mean many things. Not the least of which is that maybe it’s time for a new hair color….

 

 

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in camping, Children, chocolate, Dogs, family, Louisiana, pets, technology, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

