Today’s Mission

Today’s mission, should I choose to accept it: re-write my book in 1st person.

charlies angels

I wish there was a Bosley around, who’d put the phone on speaker while a disembodied “Charlie” gave me orders.  It’d be better than taking them from the voices in my head.

Here’s the thing about having a regular job– it’s like gravity. You go to work, you get a paycheck. Sometimes you get raises and promotions. You trade your time for money, your independance for security.

Days like today, dreary, bleak, blah days, I miss the comfort of someone else being the boss and taking the responsibility for success.

If I re-write this book, I don’t know if it will work– get me an agent and a publishing contract.  I might have better luck rebuilding an engine– there are manuals for that at least, even if they are written in the metric system.

engine rebuild

Nobody knows what it takes to be successful. It’s the je ne sais quois factor. The rules are fluid and contridictory on the best days. Nonexistent on the others.

I am trying to channel my inner Thomas Edison today. He found over a 1,000 ways NOT to make a lightbulb.

“If I find 10,000 ways something won’t work, I haven’t failed. I am not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward”.
Thomas A. Edison, Encyclopaedia Britannica

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Today’s Mission

  1. Christy Hayes says:

    Why are you rewriting to first person? I rewrote from first to third. It’s an excruciating experience, but one where you learn a lot about your discipline and your motivation. You can do it, just wondering why??

  2. Laura says:

    1st person is all the rage in YA. Hardly any books on the shelves that aren’t. If you don’t count Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

