Crying For Me

A year ago tomorrow I woke up early, looking forward to the LSU vs. Alabama game. The crisp fall air made it the perfect day for gumbo and by noon I had nearly passed out from anticipation.

This year it’s hot and muggy and I’m dreading the game. If my team wins, it’ll be a miracle, and I’m not sure Lousiana has any miracles to waste on football.

Me, I’m trying to save up all my miracles for the Powerball myself. But, that doesn’t mean I don’t think I’m fortunate almost all the time, because I do.

I have an amazing family and incredible friends. They lift me up, even when they’re the reason I’m down. As Toby Keith sings in his song about the late Wayman Tisdale (You can listen here: Crying for Me — Wayman’s Song):

I’m gonna miss that smile

I’m gonna miss you my friend

Even though it hurts the way it ended up

I’d do it all again

***

So play it sweet in heaven

Cause that’s right where you want to be

I’m not crying cause I feel so sorry for you,

I’m crying for me.

In Memory of Mammaw Alene Alford, Nicole Ward, Thom Barnett, Pam Miller, and so many others. Miss you my friends.

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Authors, Basketball, family, football, gumbo, Louisiana, LSU, Sports, weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

