Dog Daze

Shhh. Dont’ tell anybody. I’m volunteering at the Natchitoches Hope for Paws dog shelter. I figured that I could help out and not want to bring one home with me because I don’t really like dogs. Not really.

I’d stuff the SUV full of fluffy kittens and bring them all home, but I’m pretty much immune to dogs. Or so I thought.

There’s this one that gives me the look. The sad-eyed, take me home with you look.

Sam at Natchitoches Hope for Paws
http://natchitocheshopeforpaws.org/

And, I want to. I really want to. But, I’m afraid my dear husband would divorce me if I brought home another dog for him to take care of.

It would be the final straw on the wagonload of hay he’s hauling around, hoping I’ll notice what a good hay hauler he is.  Of course I’ve noticed and have given him several certificates and am thinking about a commemorative plaque or coffee mug.

Best. Husband. Ever.

But, plaques and mugs and dogs cost money and we’re working on the budget. I pretty much hate the budget. Not as much as I hate the people who litter on my road, or those that abuse and abandon animals, but the budget is the top 10 for sure.

The main problem with the budget is that there is no money to bribe the revenue estimating committee into inflating the estimate. Evidentally, one of the main concepts of budgeting is that you can’t spend money you don’t have or even think you’ll have.

The Budget. Mind boggling. Butt numbing. Despair inducing.

Sooner or later, you gotta pay the piper. Looks like sooner is just around the corner for some of us.

 

 

About Laura Alford, PhD

I'm a 2018 graduate of LSU (PhD in Accounting). In addition to academic research, I also write fiction and blogs about nothing.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Saving Money and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment