Ugly Wins

“Ugly Win.” I heard that a lot this weekend.

I guess an ugly win is where instead of the smooth ride you expected, you get a much more difficult battle, but due to outstanding talent, magnanimous turnovers, or sheer good fortune, you manage to overcome the deficit and win anyway.

Ugly wins can happen elsewhere, too. With friends or family situations. Sometimes you can “win” the battle, but lose the war.

I’m not sure what good it is to have a moral victory and lose the relationship. Is being right and winning the point worth losing it all?

Rainy days and Sundays. Worst combo ever, unlike the Dorito Taco Loco, which is the Best combo ever.

I checked the weather earlier today before leaving town for a much needed pedicure and some quality mother/daughter time. But, there were 2 alerts for Natchitoches– one said look out for falling trees.

Falling trees. Dumbest thing ever, I thought, but stayed home anyway. Then, my brother called and said a tree had fallen on his mother-in-law’s vehicle as she was driving down the road and could he come wash his glass-covered kid at my house?

Wow. Everybody’s ok. Thank God. And that helps with my perspective.

Have a good week. Here’s to October. Happy Fall, Y’all!

 

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in family, football, LSU, Sports, weather, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ugly Wins

  1. Susan Sands says:

    Currently the mother of three teens, I’m beaten in battle as much as not, though at the end of the war, perhaps we will all still speak to one another and they will have jobs and live someplace else.

Leave a Reply

