The End of the Line

Sat around visiting with my peeps this afternoon.  We discussed reading the Declaration of Independance, but a fudge-brownie haze dulled our motivation, so we didn’t. Maybe next year. My sister needed to be filled in on all the big news from last week: RIP Andy Griffith, so sad for Tom and Katie, and our brother’s in-law’s in Virginia are still out of power from the storms.

I don’t know where this road is, but this is kind of what the Marthaville Road looked like April, 2011.

Tony-boy (he hates it when we call him this, but not as much as his OTHER nickname) said, “They’re at the end of the line, and, well, you know how that is.”

Oh, yeah, I know. One big ice storm in the late 80’s left my parents without power for a week. Not my best Christmas vacation, but not my worst, either. Several months later, another multiday outage during Easter break was caused by tornadoes. Holiday power outages were so regular that the whole family conspired to punk me. Twice.

I came home from college one Friday evening and they were sitting in the dark (they even had the foresight to cover up the lights on the microwave and VCR.) Surprise!  It wasn’t a party. They faked a power outage just to watch my reaction. What kind of people do that?

So, my parents were out of power for 9 days after Hurricane Rita one sweltering September, because they’re at the end of the line. We were out for 3 days after Ike passed through, because we’re at the end of the line. My sister is also at the end of her line, but so far has been lucky. How did we all wind up at the end of the line? Especially me? I’ve got neighbors on both sides and across the road.

Somebody has to be last, I guess. Robert Sacre of Gonzaga was the 60th pick in this year’s NBA draft. He got picked by the LA Lakers. While the players who get drafted in the second round are not guaranteed a spot on the roster, it gives him an opportunity to continue to work hard for his dream of playing in the pros. His response to being the final pick, “They saved the best for last.”

Robert Sacre

 

I hope so. And not just because I already have a lot of purple and gold in my closet, but because this kid’s smile is contagious and so is his attitude. Go, Rob! Take the real LA (Louisiana) to Hollywood.

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Basketball, chocolate, Louisiana, Sports, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The End of the Line

  1. Laura, my family in Maryland still don’t have power and it’s been a week!! I love the family punk. My family would do the same thing just to get me. I like to think it’s because they love us so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

