Hot Dogging It

Yesterday was my day to host the family super-regional get together. More of an open-house than a formal party, people wafted in and out all day.

First, we sent the kids outside to play– without lunch. This rather genius idea evolved from years of experience in parenting.  Instead of the usual hour and a half of kids bickering, whining and complaining about the food choices, followed by the responsorial psalm of parental demands, i.e. eat two more bites ofwhatever and drink ALL of your milk, they came in starving and thirsty after we had dined in relative peace. WIN/WIN.

After lunch, the noise levels in the house began to exceed my tolerance level, so we packed 2 SUV’s full of kids, sunscreen, towels, hats and sunglasses over to my in-laws for a ride on the lake.  Their party barge has a big motor on it, so we pulled a some tubes– hot dog and regular.

Lyle, Leah, Aggie on “hot dog.” Abe and Robert (rear view)

Thank God we had the lake to ourselves.  The hardest part of tubing is getting on the damn thing. (If that video ever surfaces, it’s safe to say I will be in jail on criminal charges.) After several tries, which resulted in my flipping the tube and being yanked out of my life jacket by my son trying to help me up, I abandoned the water for the ship. From there, I launched myself spread-eagle on the inner-tube and proceeded to party like an aging rock star.

We sort of lost track of time, albeit slightly on purpose.  Sort of figured if those left behind got hungry enough, they’d start cooking.  And, I was right–they did! All I had to do was work the Margaritaville Machine, which is totally awesome, by the way. We had grilled shrimp, fried shrimp, steaks, bacon burgers, and hot dogs for the kids. Brownies, homeade ice cream (forgot the vanilla) with fudge sauce and cherries for dessert.

Despite the fact that every kid under the age of 14 cried at least once, we still had an awesome day.

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Children, family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot Dogging It

  1. Susan Sands says:

    Are you in a coma today? I would be curled into a family/food induced recovery ball under the covers…

Leave a Reply

