Be Prepared In Advance

No kidding, right? This is the title of an article on The Weather Channel. The sad part is that it’s written by someone who should be knowledgable in the use of the English language. Here’s the link to the article by Dr. Rick Knabb:

www.weather.com/weather/hurricanecentral/article/prepare-for-a-hurricane_2011-08-22

Online dictionary service http://www.thefreedictionary.com defines “prepared” as: “to make ready beforehand,” as in “Advance?” Ok. Whatever. I’m not the grammar police. Redundancy can be a good thing, especially in disaster preparedness.

John Lithgow wearing a belt and suspenders.

The solar eclipse didn’t magically fix this webpage, so it’s still too small to read without a telescope, and that makes me grumpy. Especially since my husband told me it was fine last week…. Hmmm.

 * * * Brief Interlude * * *

(In which I make a Startling Discovery about Ingenuity and Redundancy)

One day later: After conversing with my SO, I decide that over the past 10 years he has exhibited a tendancy toward brutal honesty, and that if he were to tell an untruth it probably wouldn’t be about my damn blog, so what he saw was regular sized. I surmise that he clicked on my other, more popular web browser.

Following this line of reasoning, I check it out, and Voila! I can now read the text. Two web browsers means  one still works. Yay, me!

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in dictionary, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

