Elementary!

Today it feels like I’m channeling Oscar The Grouch, which makes it doubly hard to write a humorous and uplifting post. The fact that the moment I began this post I  somehow shrunk my screen down 3 sizes and can’t fix it isn’t helping. It’s only this page, all the other web pages are displaying normally, so maybe it’s a SIGN!

I’ve been praying for a sign, and looks like I’ve got one.  Wonderful. Guess now  I need to pray for an interpreter, preferably not my brother, cause he’ll say its a simple SUE, but not how to fix it. GRRR!

Ok. Back to original theme– PERSPECTIVE. Trying to avoid that glass half-full cliche, I remembered an email that made the rounds with all those fantastic 3 D sidewalk art paintings.  Now those guys understand perspective.

I don’t know how they do that. I can’t get out of stick figure class, much less get to ‘Tikitikitimbonosirimbocherryberryruchipipperripimbo has fallen into the well’ class.

Logically, it is easy to understand that how we perceive events is up to us. It is elementary to comprehend that all we can control is our reaction to events, not the events themselves. It is our CHOICE (see Tom Robbins Still Life with a Woodpecker for a better explanation that I can ever work up) if our reaction is anger, sadness, happiness, etc.

Just because a concept is simple, doesn’t mean it’s easy to implement. That’s what I’m working on today– not letting other peoples’ inconsistency, rudeness, or pure-d insanity negatively influence my day. That’s all on them. I choose to not participate in bringing any more negativity into my world.

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elementary!

  1. Lord High Impress of the Moon ;) says:

    There’s a great Dilbert line about dealing with negative co-workers. It goes something like: I respectfully decline the invitation to join your hallucination. It’s very freeing when dealing with the catty, the petulant, and the pained.

Leave a Reply

