At the Beach

There’s something about the sound of the ocean that puts my brain on pause. It’s remarkable for something non-narcotic to shut it down up there. Not that I’m complaining.

But, I’m still stalled on my career aspirations from last week, the lottery having fallen through yet again, and could use some measurable brain activity to move that forward.

The numbers from the Chinese fortune cookies seemed like winners, but they weren’t– just like Alpaca farming sounds like a good career solution, but really isn’t. I did find a job with potential at the resort: driving the tram. From beach side to bayside and back again. No traffic signals to deal with because there’s a tunnel under the road. I think I could do that and not get lost. Being able to wear shorts is an acceptable tradeoff for the boredom I think.

Maybe if I work so close to the beach, my brain will be shut down so boredom wouldn’t be a factor. That’s a thought. But, my family lives in Louisiana, so resort tram driver is not really a practical solution, not any more than emu farming. So, it’s back to square 1. Again.

My Meyer’s-Briggs type of INFJ suggests that I should be a writer. Or a social worker. Or even a teacher. Duh.

I’m fine with being a writer, it’s the unpaid part of writing that I’m having a spot of trouble with. I’m fine with teaching at the collegiate level or at Zumba classes. To be a professor, I need a couple more years of learning to get a doctorate. The problem with Zumba is that I’m a little old to jump around all day and live to tell about it– I can teach one, maybe two classes a day, 4 or 5 days a week.

So, I’m stuck in a spiral of same thinking. Anybody got any ideas?

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At the Beach

  1. Mark says:

    I had just read an article of top jobs in coming years and they include college professors, accountants (so accounting professors would have to be huge), and truck drivers (or really big trams). Nurses, teachers, and retail were also on the list.

Leave a Reply

