Chick Lit

This weekend I attended a writers’ conference in Shreveport hosted by the NOLA Stars. NOLA meaning North Louisiana. I don’t know about anybody else, but I had a great time and managed to learn a thing or twenty while doing it.

It’s always so interesting to meet new people from other parts of the country. My new favorite thing is to show (not tell) people from New York City our drive-thru liquor stores. You HAVE to show them because they absolutely DO NOT believe it when you tell them.

Apparently, although no one actually drives in The City, you can’t get a “Go-Cup,” i.e. leave a bar with your frozen marguerita in a styrofome cup. What’s up with that?

And, the police can give you a ticket for drinking on the stoop. WTH? I’m guessing street dances with a beer in one hand and a cigarette in the other aren’t allowed, either?

It’s not that I consume copious quantities of alcoholic beverages, or even think that drive-thru liquor stores are particularly good ideas, but I can’t imagine living somewhere they were prohibited. It would be like living without air conditioning, though I’ve heard some people do that, too.

Now it makes more sense that people don’t leave Louisiana, despite our poor roads and languishing educational system. Where could we go that would be better than home?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ir8RPb7_3Lo

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Authors, Louisiana, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chick Lit

  1. Christy Hayes says:

    I didn’t believe it either until Susan showed us. If it makes people feel any better, I didn’t taste much alcohol in the drink 🙂

    • Laura says:

      It depends on where you get them. Smaller towns usually have a couple of hometown specials that will remove paint! They taste nasty but get the job done, I guess.

      The frozen eggnog around Christmas is my favorite. A little nutmeg on top and a healthy dose of rum. Delish!

Leave a Reply

