Just Stand/Mercy Now

“Stand” is one of my very favorite gospel songs. I first heard it at the Greater King David Baptist Church, Inner City location. That choir is full of amazing voices, and every week the music was like Whitney Houston’s funeral. It was that freaking good. Seriously.

The only reason that I watch any news at all is because the old people who exercise at my club have it on. I try to drown out the constant bickering with music to maintain my spin-free zone at all times.(So this whole post is Akilyah’s fault for not having Zumba class for 2 weeks and making me do the cardio machines in front of the tv.)

So, there I was, burning calories on the elliptical,the only machine close enough to the rather smallish tv where I can actually read the captions, and I saw the headline “Catholic Controversy.” After minimal investigation, it appears that the American Bishops have gone to the mat with Obama over birth-control pills.

Really? Oral contraceptives? I think the research shows that something like 45% of Catholic women take them daily. Purely for medicinal purposes, I’m sure. Wink, wink.

I understand that respect for life begins at the beginning. I understand the need for a line in the sand that must not be crossed because it’s easier to understand and communicate to the masses.

What I don’t understand is how a church thinks it will continue to have “masses” when it ignores the needs of the people. But, this is the Church that took a thousand years to admit they were wrong about Copernicus. This is the Church of the Inquisition. This is the Church that doesn’t understand why nobody buys its half-harted mea culpa on the abuse scandals.

Despite the many wonderful people and priests in today’s Catholic Church, it seems like our leaders traded up from shooting themselves in the foot to nuking it. I don’t understand.

And, yet, this is my Church. These are my people. I am going to pray for healing and reconciliation. It’s 3:00 somewhere and we could all use some mercy now.

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Catholocism, music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Stand/Mercy Now

  1. Susan Sands says:

    I think you’re preaching to the proverbial choir on this one, sister. Times, they are a-changin.’ It’s a shame there aren’t more forward-thinkers regarding birth control. It isn’t like the species is dying out and there aren’t enough subjects to populate the earth.

    I had dinner last night with two other couples about our Christian school’s stand on some of the same issues and how their mission statement differs from the curriculum that’s forced on the kids in a disturbing way. Subject matter that should require a signed parental consent before exposing any middle schooler to such a hard core, one-sided, and shocking portrayal of information.

  2. hkw says:

    Two weeks ago Romney called birth control pills, “abortive pills” he lost all respect from me and any potential he ever had of receiving my vote.

    I’m back to being a “yellow dog democrat”.

Leave a Reply

