V is for… Vacation

Last week, V stood for ‘not Valium’. I wrote that blog before Superbowl XLVII (46), in which case V stands for 5 (five.) My VII year old entertained herself by learning Roman numerals and creating several math problems using that system. For example, L + L = C, M – D = D, and VIII + I  = IX.

She’s a smart kid who is good with numbers, but can’t seem to remember my correct age. I don’t get it!

My other child’s EIQ (Emotional Intelligence Quotient) is off the charts. Apparently unconcerned with my fate in the hereafter for the venial sin of “fudging the truth,” he lets me pretend to be whatever age makes me happiest. But he spent his time fuming that a certain entertainer didn’t join Madonna on the stage for half-time.

So, I’m stuck with these random kids the hospital sent home with me. They prefer math to sports, truth to an inheritance (albeit a meager one), and Lady Gaga to Willie Nelson. The dreaded Generational Gap looms before us like the Grand Canyon.

The Grand Canyon aka Generational Gap

 

My husband’s parents are celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary this summer in Utah. Quick facts about Utah: (1) Karl Malone, aka The Mailman, played pro basketball there with John Stockton, (2) the state is overrun with adherents to a religion that prohibits caffiene, ie scarcity of Diet Mountain Dew, and (3) Salt Lake City is nowhere near the Grand Canyon.

The good news is that I found some reasons to look forward to this trip, BESIDES quality time with my husband’s people, most of whom neither of us know. We will be staying about 8 hours from Yellowstone National Park. Not only have I heard of that, but have been there. 20 years ago.

Yikes!! 20 years ago this summer, I bought this sweatshirt and I STILL HAVE IT!

Sweatshirt from 1992

Over the last 20 years, I have purchased more vehicles than sweatshirts. That is due in part to my extremely warm-naturedness and to living in South Louisiana for 12/20 years. When I moved back “north,” I owned 1 (one) single sweater suitable for work and had to purchase two more because of an especially long (three weeks) and frigid (in the teen’s Y’all!) winter. It was so cold my water heater froze. Twice.

Had the fall of 2002 been any warmer or drier, I might not have gone to Belize and who knows where I’d be?

Next Week, V is for… Valentine!

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Basketball, Children, Generation Gap and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

