In the Air

There are rules for putting the top down on my convertible. My prime directive is that the outside temperature must be between 65 and 85 degrees Farenheit. So, when I drove out to Many earlier this week, I was pleased to see that the temperature gauge read 78. Perfecto!

I crossed the street, gassed up the wagon, and then dropped the top.

(Obviously a stock photo since there is no beach on HWY 6 and my car is never that clean). It was time to rock and roll and ride into a beautiful day. Or so I thought as I waited patiently for all of the traffic to clear so I could pull out. An 18-wheeler was coming up on my right, so I paused to see if he’d turn into the truck stop. Big mistake. I should have gunned it because this is what continued to drive past me:

Chicken truck, chicken truck, just my luck. You can smell these bad boys in an hermetically sealed biospheric containment unit. The smell in an open air vehicle is worse than abominable. You can’t follow too closely, hoping for a chance to pass, either. There are usually several cars in the opposite lane when there is a passing zone. Thankfully, I was able to use about 3 of the 8 cylinders and 2/9 of the ponies and pass that sucker before I got very far down the road.

The good news is that I managed to slow down after passing with care. The bad news is that I won’t be eating chicken for a while. In this last week of Advent, I hope everyone has a safe and happy holiday season. A holiday is a HOLY Day, and it’s okay to say Happy Holidays.

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Christmas, Louisiana, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the Air

  1. Susan Sands says:

    Does Natchitoches still have the chicken processing plant? When I was in college there, part of the town reeked of “chicken truck” 24/7. It was exponentially worse when the wind blew. But I still loved Natchitoches.

    Good thing you got past the odiferous fowl mobile before it ruined your lovely top-down day! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

