The Art of the Possible

Some days I get fragments of a song stuck in my head.  The phrase du jour is, “Politics, the art of the possible,” from the soundtrack of the musical Evita.  Sirs Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice are a most fantastic composing and writing duo. I am bourgeois enough that if they didn’t do it, I am hesitant about seeing it.

Evita was playing at the Saenger Theatre in New Orleans many years ago, so I went.  It was hard for me to believe that the setting was Argentina, so familiar were the issues: a land wealthy in natural resources, a large number of poor and uneducation citizens voting in a populist reform candidate who turns out worse than the predecessor.  It reeked of the demagoguery we see in Louisiana; the northern-most Banana Republic.

The original quote, “Politics is the art of the possible,”  is attributable to Otto Von Bismark, a German-Prussian politician. He was a wily fox, but his efforts couldn’t save the Prussian Empire; it was swallowed up by Germany. He is interesting.  Look it up.

Days at the beach remind me that time and tides are endless.  The tides ebb and flow, just as public sentiment swings from liberal to conservative and back again. Ecclesiates 1:9 comes to mind: ‘What has been will be, What has been will be done again, there is nothing new under the sun.”

Recession. Depression. Recovery. Boom.  Timing is everything… try to catch it on the upswing.

 

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Art of the Possible

  1. Love your beachy musings!

  2. Susan Sands says:

    Time for some cookie dough to enable the upswing. Deep thoughts, my friend.

  3. Economics is just one big pendulum. At least that’s what I recall from the few minutes I was awake during any college econ class. I’d rather study cookie dough and margarita’s instead. My supply is low and my body is demanding them!

Leave a Reply

