The Cookie Quest

Oatmeal Cookies

After an emotionally draining day, nothing resets my equilibrium as much as being able to spend some quiet time snuggled up with my kids.  I have to enjoy that 90 seconds to the fullest, because that’s about as long as they can be within 3 feet of each other and not start the button pushing.  So last night my daughter was talking about something that made my son uncomfortable.  He said, “That’s disturbing.  Lets talk about something else.”

“Ok.  Let’s get back to our plan to kidnap Baby Gray,” she said very seriously.

We all fell out laughing.  Baby stealing is not disturbing?  Well, it’s not nearly as disturbing as my failure to make the second best chocolate chip cookies ever.  Let me first say that I am a pretty good cook.  I can download recipes from Emeril and they come out right the first time. At a banquet a couple of years ago I tasted the best strawberry cake I had ever eaten.  I cobbled a few recipes together, mostly Paula Deen, and now I make one that is just as good, if not better, than the inspiration cake.  I can put baby furniture together and not have any left over pieces. Chuck Norris ain’t got squat!

When we were kids, I can remember people laughing when my cousin said he had read a book on swimming and figured he’d be able to do it.  That’s confidence!  I am equally confident that if I follow the directions on a recipe it will turn out right.  So when my sister-in-law, the undisputed World Champion chocolate chip cookie baker, says she just follows the recipe on the back of the yellow package, I am highly suspicious.  I have been using that recipe for at least 30 years and mine have NEVER once tasted that good.

But, I am game.  I try it again.  Colossal fail.  They are just like the ones I have been making all my life.  Good, but not supremely divine like … hers.  She has some cookie secret that she is not sharing, and I don’t think that it’s salted butter. Hence, the plot to hold the kid for ransom until she caves and shares the secret.

Of course, we aren’t really going to steal the baby, although he is awfully cute.  I will try a couple of other things and see if I can improve the outcome.  This afternoon, the kids and I are going to make some fabulous oatmeal cookies (no raisins) from a Paula Deen recipe.  The are not quite as good as when my sister makes them, but they are close.

That’s all I want– to get close to the absolute best.

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in cooking, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Cookie Quest

  1. LC Coon says:

    How about read the encyclopedia to learn music?? Nothing like confidence.
    Your cookies are really good, even the burned ones.

  2. Mark says:

    If Aarin truly loves Gray, she’ll give in on the cookies.

  3. I love cookies. I’ll need to taste a few to see if they are truly as delicious as you say. 🙂 That’s a hint to send me some, dang it!!!!

Leave a Reply

