I Hate August!

48 days straight with temperatures over 100 degrees (and it was 99.8 the day before that).  No rain.  Back to school traffic.  And, of course, funerals and memories of funerals.

I feel like Frodo, stuck on the side of Mt. Doom, accompanied by Samwise Gamjee and the creepy critter Gollum.  Surrounded by bloodthirsty orcs and giant spiders, my last crumbs of elven bread just went tumbling down the mountain.  Exhausted, hot, tired, hungry and thirsty and filled with the knowlege I may not make it down alive, how can I go on?

The truth is that I don’t know.  We just do.  We persevere and then one day it is better.  It rains, or it’s a little cooler.  The kids make us laugh instead of bickering constantly.  Old friends call and we remember the good times.  We shift our focus from the shadows to the light.  Inch by inch, we recover.

However, just because I understand the journey, doesn’t mean I like it.  ‘Cause I don’t.

About oldhwysixwest

I'm currently pursuing a PhD in accounting at LSU. I also write fiction when I can (usually 4 am).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Hate August!

  1. Susan Sands says:

    Turn down the thermostat a few degrees and don’t leave the house until the temperature dips below a cool 90*. I’ll call you tomorrow and we can reminisce. Oh, and send Mark to Shipley’s for a donut–this dieting thing makes us cranky. Sounds like you need immediate relief. :-))

    • Laura says:

      I Wrote this last week. PMS and a low carb, low calorie diet are a bad combo! Making cookies today, so feeling much better.

  2. LC Coon says:

    Praise God for air conditioning.
    Think how cool it will feel when it is 90 .

Leave a Reply

